Day 001 Riding Around America


60

What is 60?  The number of seconds in a minute, the number of minutes in an hour, the pounds my doctor told me to lose.  60, is the non-metric speed limit on most roads, the best decade for rock and roll and would be the number of candles on my next birthday cake, if I was having cake, but I won’t be around to celebrate.

My wife, make that young wife, Scooter, turned 50 last fall and to avoid any surprise parties spent three weeks biking across 800 km of northern Spain, the hard way. She rode a bicycle.  She tells me that brownie points have no shelf life, however, I think not because it was either the points I earned by not destroying the house while she was gone or guilt that she may have felt for leaving me behind, but she suggested that we take a ride around American.  I say we, but her version is I ride to Phoenix alone while she flies there and then I show her around the city on the bike.  I then ride to Charlotte, NC where she will join me again for a weekend and then I ride back across the heartland and home.

I would prefer to have a ridding buddy but like my wife, most my friends simply responded with the phrase, “Are you out of your frigging mind?”  Or something to that effect.

The first decision was do I take the BMW, K1200LT with the heated seat and grips, tons of storage and all the comforts of home or do I take the Boulevard C90T, an all black and chrome cruiser that looks great and helps me pass for a younger 58 or 59?  I was waffling when the local Suzuki Dealer suggested he would take them both on trade for a new 109 dressed up for the road and Scooter said, “Go for it.”

Now to choose a route, my riding vest has a map of Canada and the US patch with only the west half colored in, so part of the decision is how many new states can I ride through in three weeks.  I will be starting in Grande Prairie, Alberta and riding home after work 630 miles (1000 km) to Kelowna, BC where I pick up my supplies then head south through Washington, Idaho, Montana, Utah, and into Arizona.  After a week of visiting friends and showing Scooter around I will head east through New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina and finally North Carolina.  I will rest there for the weekend and color in 14 states.  The problem is I pass by so close to Arkansas and Oklahoma perhaps I should detour.  The ride home will be through Tennessee, Kentucky, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wyoming and home. Eight more states but also so close to Minnesota, Iowa, and Indiana. I could add three or four more states, what is a guy to do?  Should I be happy with 21 states in 21 days or go for more?  Follow me around America and find out here!

25 thoughts on “Day 001 Riding Around America

  1. Hi, for all of you who are following this, I wanted you to know that Layton was in an accident today, Saturday, June 6, near Ely, Nevada. He has some broken ribs and a collapsed lung…I will know more Sunday when I fly to Reno where he has been taken. He had fortunately picked up a buddy and was riding with someone named Calvin from Washington. I am sure it is thanks to Calvin that Layton got the medical treatment he needed. Calvin, if you read this, please contact me, myrnap@max-u.com. I will be updating this as much as I can and I am also creating a group email. If you want to be kept in the loop that way, please let me know and I will add you to the list. Thanks for all your prayers.

    Like

  2. Layton had a good night and what a surprise! his nurse loves him and told me what a trooper he was….I am going to plan to keep things updated through Layton’s blog http://www.backroadscholar.com

    Thanks for all your notes, prayers and support.

    His biggest pain is in his chest so as you “breathe” through your day….maybe just focus on breathing in white healing light for Layton and exhaling the pain…Myrna’s Reader’s Digest version of a meditation!

    Like

  3. Layton & Myrna & family

    I went for prayer on your behalf today and there was the image of God’s hand being underneath you as you went down on your bike.

    We are all praying for you, and look forward to getting an update.

    Love – Val

    Like

  4. Hello Myrna, Layton and family,
    Healing white and pink lights coming out to you!

    Layton..
    I am so sorry to hear about your painful detour on the way to North Carolina! I am glad to read you had a friend with you at the time and he was able to make sure you got the medical attention you require.

    I took your book “Get out of your way” to the coffee shop to sit and re-read (with the video phone) today. I was highlighting many sections and thinking how good it was going to be to see you again in NC. I assume you will be a very fast healer as it was so clear to me today that I would see you there!
    You are an inspiration to so many people in so many ways Layton and I want to thank you very much.

    Myrna, if there is anything we can do from here please let us know.
    Thinking about you all.
    (deep healing breath…… deep healing breath…. deep healing breath…)
    Susan and Stephane.

    Like

  5. Layton: Here I am reading your blog and wondering how you will manage to navigate around the US without me as your cook, navigator and co-pilot. And I was a little jealous. Now I am just oh so thankful that you are still more or less in one piece. It sounds like you are getting the kind of care that you need but all of the Princes are sending you good vibes and healing thoughts to speed your recover. Hugs to Myrna too.

    Like

    • I am home and healing. Thanks so much for your support I don’t know how I made it as far as I did without you but if you had been there you may have told me not to drive into the ditch.

      Layton

      Like

  6. Just found out about the accident. My prayers are with you both, as well as the family at home. I feel for you – in a strange place with all the equipment Layton is attached to, and all the worries. Sounds like you have had some great nurses and medical staff caring for him. That always helps. Please know that we care about you both and are praying that God holds you in His healing hands. Let your Star friends know if there anything we can do. God Bless you all.
    Pam and Rodney

    Like

  7. Myrna – thank you for letting me know about the accident.

    Layton – you are in my prayers my friend. Get better soon – your family and your fans need you buddy!

    We at the Busted Knuckle love you and hope to hear soon that everything is going to be OK.

    Take care….

    Like

  8. Our hearts and prayers go out to you and all your family. Please know we are praying for Layton’s speedy recovery. We are family you have never met but we care deeply.
    XO

    Judy & Steve Patrick
    BC Star Riders 5103

    Like

    • If you read all Myrna’s blogs you will see how important the Star riders of Reno were in the support they gave us. It is good knowing there is family out there that cares. Your thoughts and prayers were greatly appreciated and it is good to finally be home and healing. Thank you.

      Layton

      Like

    • I am finally home again and they tell me I will be fully functioning by spring. Now maybe I can catch up on some of my writing assignments. Your thoughts and prayers were greatly appreciated, thank you.

      Layton

      Like

  9. Layton,
    Just heard about your misadventure.
    Very sorry to hear about the accident and sincere wishes for a speedy recovery.
    Common wisdom is that such events are character building. Well my friend you have no shortage of character or courage !!
    Take care.

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind message. I am home now trying to sort out what to do with all the new character I have built. Your words and support meant a great deal to Myrna as well as she really values your friendship and wisdom.

      Layton

      Like

  10. Hey, dude, sorry to hear about your unscheduled meeting with the pavement. What’s the lesson there? And is there a law that covers it? I’ll have to check your book.
    Get better real fast, and remember the immortal words of Marcus Aurelius: Pain is fleeting; it only lasts a lifetime.
    Next lunch is on you.

    Ross

    Like

    • I am ready for that lunch … just name the date, although you may have to pick me up as I am still not driving. The law is the law of perpetual motion, as long as you are moving it doesn’t hurt but watch out for the law of sudden stops.

      Layton

      Like

    • Finally I can use my left arm well enough to type some responses. Your support was greatly appreciated. I am home now recovering and by spring I should be fully functioning. If you read all my wife’s blogs you will see how important a good club is, Reno really took care of us both. Be sure to tell your club how important it is to keep focused when riding but also to always carry out of country insurance. My costs are going to run close to a million dollars and would have ruined us had I not had insurance. Watch the blog for additional stories.

      Thanks again. Layton

      Like

  11. Sorry to hear about the accident. remember….pain heals, chicks dig scars, and glory lasts forever (and so does the written word).
    all the best!

    Like

    • I am home and healing with a set of scares that would win most contests. They run across my chest, across my back then curl back again for a small back run. Can’t wait to lie on the beach and see if your theory holds.

      Thanks for the support.

      Like

  12. So sorry to hear of the of your accident.

    Just to let you know we are thinking and praying for you all during this time and wish you a very speedy recovery.

    All the very best and a big hugs to you both.

    God Bless

    Julie & Colin xx

    Like

  13. Thinking of you… and Myrna !! Following on blog but am thankful for Myrna’s emails. Both of you take care and if there is anything I/we can do from a distance let us know. Soon enough you will have the nurses and doctors laughing. Virtual Hugs… Linnea

    Like

Leave a comment