Day 02 End of Day, June 8


Tomorrow should be a good day. Layton is scheduled for surgery at 9:00 am. They are going to “plate and screw” his collar bone and his ribs. I saw the x-rays of his ribs and several ribs are broken in several places! That is why he is having so much trouble breathing; his lung is under lots of pressure. Blake Butler, Carson’s friend who broke his collar bone several times last year, Layton’s x-ray is worse than yours-several places as well! You can compare notes when he comes home.

The surgeon says that he may then get his tubes out tomorrow as well. He so wants to sit up and have a sip of water. The doctor says that this will really speed up his recovery and reduce the chance of getting pneumonia.

Layton is encouraged by all your notes and comments.

They talk in Canada about the average age of nurses being early 50s. We have one nurse who might be 45, but the rest are maybe late 20s…there are way more male nurses than I recall seeing in Canadian hospitals.

So, all of you who are praying for Layton, thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

12 thoughts on “Day 02 End of Day, June 8

  1. Hey big guy…very sorry to learn of your latest news. Thankfully Myrna is doing a great job looking after you, the boys and us and frankly, she may have a career as a journalist. She’s pretty good.

    You know our thoughts and prayers are with you. All of the STAR Touring & Riding Chapters have been alerted so you may get some mail and/or visitors. If the guys from Las Vegas Chapter show up we have asked them to play nice when they are visiting.

    Hang in there and please let me/us know if there is anything we can do. Hurry home-BBQ’s at my house.

    Like

  2. Good morning Myrna and Layton. I thought I would send you an email telling you that I would be praying for Laytons recovery. The Lord will look after all of your needs and I pray that in Jesus name.
    Keep him in your care and let us know how the surgery went.
    Thanks Mike Beck.

    Like

  3. Myrna and Layton:

    You are both in our thoughts and prayers. May all of the good vibes flow thru to both of you to aid in getting Layton back on his motorcycle again. Sounds like you are in the best place possible to take care of your injuries and we are glad that Myrna is close by at all times.

    God Bless,
    The Connections Gang

    Like

  4. Good luck with your surgery today Dad. You have lots of people praying for you and sending you positive energy, so I hope you can feel the love. We are all anxiously awaiting the prognosis of when you will be able to write again. As so many have mentioned, there is one big story just waiting to be told, actually, it may be a whole book of short stories… and we all can’t wait to read them. Take care, and I hope to be able to speak to you soon once you are rid of those tubes! Love you.

    Like

  5. Good luck with the surgery. With all of the prayers out there for you, I’m sure you will do well. Thank you Myrna for keeping us updated.

    Like

  6. The Busted Knuckle Crew on our Facebook Page has tons of well wished from our readers.

    The Alliance for Injured Motorcyclists here in Grande Prairie is at the ready to help out in anyway we can. If there is anything you can use some help with Myrna – please just say the word – there are 80 members waiting to hear what we can do to help out.

    Hope the surgery goes well and tell Layton for me that I can’t wait to hear his take on this turn of events.
    You guys are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  7. Hey Myrna and Layton,

    Many thoughts of health and wellness. It’s one way to have two weeks of uninterrupted time together, what with both your busy schedules. At least Myrna’s been training, so she got the strength now when the patient starts acting out! Your humour will keep the nurses hanging around Layton. Sending light and love to Nevada for you both. Love Lesley

    Like

  8. Hi Myrna and Layton!

    I wanted both of you to know that you are in the thoughts and prayers of the United Way Board and staff. We are sending extra special “get-well” karma your way, Layton. Take care. Harry

    Like

  9. Best wishes from us riders in Grand Forks, B.C. We hope your recovery is quick and you are home to your family soon.

    As Grand Forks representative of Okanagan, Kelowna A I M, I wish to offer any thing you may require, if passing through this way, or assistance needed, let me know what I can do. Also, as I’m sure you are aware, BCCOM is also available for support, and (I think) can advise you on accident benefits through ICBC and your driver’s licence, as well as contacts for legal support.

    Hope to hear you are recovered and home soon! Diane & Gregg, Grand Forks, B.C.

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I can finally answer all the messages we received. The Star riders in Reno took really great care of my wife while we were there and AIM Grande Prairie, where I am a founding member held a ride for me as well. We are fortunate that we were insured and everything will eventually get straightened out. I still maintain a business and residence in Alberta so although my wife and family are all BC residents I still had an Alberta license and insurance. But thanks for the offer.

      I am at home and only my left shoulder is giving me a bad time other than that the doctors did a great job. Riders should be reminded however to always carry out of country insurance as it looks like my bills will be higher than the value of my home.

      If you come to Kelowa call me at 764 1995 I will be home most days and happy to have company.

      Layton

      Like

  10. Hi Layton and Myrna,

    I have only recently met you Layton but my thoughts and prayers are with you and Myrna at this time. You have a great “fan club” of friends and family that are all praying and wishing you well – I can already tell you have a great support group and for good reason.

    Praying here in Grande Prairie for a speedy recovery for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

